The Holy Months .. All you need to know about them and why are they called by this name? – Al-Nasr Newspaper


The holy months are the months referred to by the Holy Qur’an and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad, may God bless him and grant him peace, as months that are prohibited for fighting and carry special virtues. The four sacred months are named in the following order:

The month of Rajab.
The month of Dhu al-Qi`dah.
Dhu al-Hijjah.
The holy months are called by this name because Islam prohibits fighting and aggression in these months, and all acts of aggression and hostility are prohibited during them. Some Islamic rulings may bet on these months and stipulate the necessity of respecting them and not encroaching on them.

The virtues of the holy months include:

Performing the rituals of Hajj in the month of Dhul-Hijjah, as performing the Hajj in this month is considered one of the greatest acts of worship, and he has a special reward.
Good deeds and bad deeds multiply during the sacred months, and it is desirable during them to draw closer to God by acts of worship such as fasting and reading the Qur’an.
The Day of Arafah, the Day of Sacrifice, the Day of the Qur’an, and the days of al-Tashreeq in the month of Dhul-Hijjah are among the greatest days in the sight of God, and they must be utilized in worship and drawing closer to God.
Fasting the month of Muharram, where it is narrated that the Prophet Muhammad, may God’s prayers and peace be upon him, said: “The month of God is Muharram.”
In general, it is advised to increase worship and good deeds in the holy months and to stay away from sins and misdeeds. It is also necessary to avoid injustice and aggression during these months, and to increase the alms that extinguish the wrath of God and expiate sins.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.